• Home
  • The Resource
  • News
  • Nominations Sought for 2017 J. Robert Elster Award for Professional Excellence

Nominations Sought for 2017 J. Robert Elster Award for Professional Excellence

28 Feb 2017 4:28 PM | Lynette Pitt (Administrator)

Nominations are being accepted for the 2017 J. Robert Elster Award for Professional Excellence. This Award is named in honor of the life and career of J. Robert Elster, the second president of the Association. 

Please nominate a present or past member of the NCADA for consideration as a possible recipient of the Award for Professional Excellence that will be presented at the 40th Annual Meeting, June 15-18, 2017. Your letter of nomination should be addressed to J. Nicholas Ellis, Chair, NCADA Awards Committee, 4030 Wake Forest Road, Ste 203, Raleigh, NC 27609. The letter should reference the "J. Robert Elster Award for Professional Excellence," include the name and current address of your nominee, along with supporting information and any appropriate documentation you believe will help the Awards Committee in making a recommendation to the Board of Directors. Your letter must be received at the Raleigh office no later than Friday, March 24, 2017.

Criteria: The recipient shall be a present, or former, member of the North Carolina Association of Defense Attorneys. The recipient must exemplify the highest standards of professionalism, integrity, and ethics, and conduct herself, or himself, in a civil, courteous manner with all persons. The recipient must exemplify sustained, excellent service to individual and corporate defendants in civil litigation, to the Bar, and to the community.

Other factors that may be considered are involvement in judicial or other professional educational activities; participation in activities that improve the civil justice system; and such other criteria as the Board or Awards Committee shall determine to be important to the extraordinary achievement intended to be recognized by this Award.

Nomination and Selection:

Nominations shall be by current members of the NCADA

The Awards Committee shall receive all nominations in confidence. It shall review the nominations, and if a recipient is selected, shall confidentially recommend a recipient of the Award to the Board of Directors of the NCADA. If the Award recipient is approved by the Board of Directors, the Awards Committee shall prepare an outline of the presentation to be made by the President of the NCADA at the Annual Meeting, and shall obtain the Award on behalf of the NCADA for presentation.

The Award is intended as a special recognition, and it is not necessary that an Award be given as often as annually.


2016   John S. Willardson
2015   Hon. Linda Stephens           2009   Alan W. Duncan
2014   Harvey L. Cosper, Jr.            2008   William K. Davis
2013   James W. Williams                2007   J. Donald Cowan, Jr.
2012   Richard V. Bennett               2006   James D. Blount
2011   L. P. "Tony" Hornthal, Jr.      2006   Stephen P. Milliken
2010   Charles E. Burgin                  2005   Richard T. Boyette

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software